imagico.de
imagico.de

imagico.de

Geo-Visualization

German version

Mapping and map rendering of human settlements in OpenStreetMap

Human settlements are one of the primary features that are recorded in OpenStreetMap. The most frequently mapped type of object in OSM are buildings, there are more than 110 million of them in the database. The widespread recording of buildings and their importance in everyday life makes them a nice example to explain the mapping practice in OSM and the problems resulting from it. I here want to have a critical look at the different levels on which human settlements are mapped in OpenStreetMap, how this data is used to render maps, what limitations this results in and what can be done about it.

There are several levels on which human settlements are recorded in OSM above the building level:

  • Named settlements of any size are mapped as nodes tagged place=city|town|village|.... Many maps use these to show settlements as dots even though the standard OSM map style does not. Still these nodes are used to place labels of settlements there. They are considered the primary data objects for the settlement as a whole.
  • Many larger settlements form an administrative unit that is mapped as an area with boundary=administrative. This is however not a mapping of the settlement but of the administrative boundaries which exist independent of the actual settlement.
  • Urban landuse mappings like landuse=residential|commercial|industrial|...
Node based labels in standard style Dot markers in humanitarian style Administrative boundaries
Node based labels in standard style Dot markers in humanitarian style Administrative boundaries

The interesting point here is the landuse mapping. I often use urban land use as an example that OSM mapping practice includes different levels of generalization of the same real life objects in parallel and thereby in fact violates central OSM rules.

If we take for example landuse=residential. Common practice in OSM for mapping residential areas is to draw such a landuse polygon around the residential buildings. This usually includes the ground around the buildings that is owned and managed together with those and commonly consists of gardens, driveways, parking lots, walls, hedges etc. - everything around the buildings and usually also covers the smaller residential roads with their pavements, common areas like playgrounds, village greens and similar things. The landuse=residential does not really characterize all of these elements however, it characterizes the buildings located within it. If these are no residential buildings but offices or shops it would be a different landuse, even if everything else is the same.

landuse=residential landuse=commercial landuse=industrial
Example of landuse=residential (click on image to see the extent of the polygon) landuse=commercial landuse=industrial

So landuse=residential and other urban land uses are in fact mapping of human settlements on a coarser generalization level than the individual buildings. The question is of course on what scale this generalization happens. If there are one or two shops inside a residential area these are usually simply included in the residential landuse. The structure of towns and cities varies and there are no documented rules here, neither on how strictly residential, industrial and other areas are separated and how closely the landuse is modeled around the corresponding buildings. But any larger road, river, park or other larger structure usually interrupts the landuse so most urban landuse polygons are limited in size to a few hundred meters. The level of generalization also depends on how detailed the mapping is in the area, if small details are recorded in other aspects the landuse will often also be recorded more fine grained.

Rendering of settlements in the map

The above list of forms in which human settlements are recorded in OSM is fairly complete. And this creates a problem when producing maps from the OpenStreetMap data at different scale. At coarse scale the nodes are used to place the labels and possibly draw dots at the locations of the settlements. At high magnification the landuse polygons are drawn as well as the buildings. Both these cases can be seen in the examples above. But at intermediate scales with pixel sizes of a few hundred meters to a few kilometers there is a problem: The scale would require large towns and cities to be shown as more than mere dots since they cover larger areas of many kilometers in size, The landuse polygons however are too fine grained for this purpose, a typical city contains large areas that do not belong to any of the typical urban landuses so there are typically many gaps in the landuse coverage, green areas of various kinds, large roads, rivers etc.

urban landuse around Hannover
urban landuse around Hannover from OSM

What would be needed here is a stronger generalized data set for the towns and cities that covers the whole site and includes those areas inside the town that are not included in the urban landuse mapping. There are three possible ways to approach this:

  1. Record this data separately in the OSM database as an additional generalization level.
  2. Get the data somewhere else.
  3. Produce this data from the information in the database, i.e. the landuse polygons and the buildings.

Now option 1 would most likely be a bad idea - the existing two levels of mapping, individual buildings and landuse polygons, already cause inconsistencies when one does not match the other. The problems resulting from this will be further discussed in the following. Adding a third representation of the same thing would further extend these problems.

Option 2 is what is used in the current standard rendering style of OpenStreetMap. There is a data set of builtup areas from the VMAP0 database that contains polygons with a level of detail suited to be used at intermediate scales in OSM. This data is very old and very non-uniform however. You can see that when looking at the data in Europe for example:

VMAP0 builtup areas data
VMAP0 builtup areas in Europe

where there is very dense data in southern Russia and Ukraine but only very patchy information in southern Europe. This was already inaccurate back when the data was acquired and is even worse today. Needless to say the data does not match the information in the OpenStreetMap database.

This data set is used in the OSM standard style at zoom levels 8 and 9 - you can see that in the examples below. It is drawn in light gray.

Standard style zoom=8 Standard style zoom=9 Standard style zoom=10
zoom=8 zoom=9 zoom=10

Now newer, more accurate urban land use data sets exist, like here - but it is kind of strange that an OSM map has to use external data for something the project aims to record in detail itself.

Generalizing OSM settlement data

That leaves option 3, namely to produce such information from the data currently in the OSM database. I explained the idea of geometric generalization for the coastlines previously, namely to remove detail for the data that cannot be properly displayed at the target map scale. The logical starting point here are the landuse polygons. As you can see in the illustration above the main details that need to be removed are the gaps between the landuse areas due to roads etc. These would disturb the appearance in the rendered map and the unnecessarily fine detail would also reduce rendering performance.

The more serious problem is however that urban landuse mapping is frequently incomplete. This especially applies to downtown areas where many buildings have mixed use so neither landuse=retail nor landuse=residential fit. You can see that in the following example of Prague:

OSM landuse data of Prague
OSM landuse data of Prague (orange) and VMAP0 data (red)

The other settlement data that is available are of course the buildings - here a plot of those in the same area:

OSM building data of Prague
OSM building data of Prague and VMAP0 data (red)

Here the building data is much more accurate and complete. There are however also many regions on the planet where building data is missing.

The third possibility are the roads - this idea is pretty obvious when you look at the map at zoom level 10 like in the example of Budapest above. The dark gray color is not the urban landuse but are the roads. The road density can be an indicator for urban areas - it can however also be misleading because there are other areas with large road density, for example near complex traffic junctions, that are not necessarily close to human settlements.

The main reason for using the roads is that buildings and urban landuse are often not mapped, like in large parts of the USA and Japan. This leaves the roads as the only elements in the OSM data that can be used as an indicator for an urban area.

Combining urban land use, building and road data it is possible to work around the inconsistencies between these three individual data collections. Below you can see three examples from different parts of the world - Prague as a European city with detailed building and road mapping but incomplete urban landcover, Sioux City as a typical US city with buildings only mapped near the town center and otherwise only imported roads. Finally Dar es Salaam as an African city with somewhat patchy mapping and high detail only in small parts. There you can also see that the VMAP0 data lacks appropriate representation. You can click on the images to open the standard OSM map with the polygons as overlay.

Prague generalized urban area Sioux City generalized urban area Dar es Salaam generalized urban area
Prague Sioux City Dar es Salaam

These three examples were processed with the same settings, ideally those would need to be adjusted for the local mapping style of course. If building and landuse mapping is fairly complete results are usually better when not using the road data.

Prague urban area generalization
Buildings (black) and urban landuse data (orange) of Prague together with the generalized urban area polygons (blue), click to see in larger.

The target map scale of this processing is approximately zoom levels 8-10. As said at z=10 the roads dominate in the standard style. For map readability it could certainly be better not to show the minor roads at this scale.

The problem about using either roads or buildings is the large amount of data that needs to be processed. So processing the whole earth this way is not something you can do so easily. It should however in principle be possible to do part of this in incremental form, meaning it is not necessary to do all the processing newly from scratch every time something changes but to work in the changesets to update the data basis.

Using generalized settlement data in a map

The files provided here may be freely used by anyone under a Creative Commons license. Producing them takes a lot of time and resources. If you find this data useful please consider supporting my work using the following link:

To test how OSM data processed this way looks like in a rendered map you can download polygons in web mercator projection here. These are based on building, urban land use and road data from OpenStreetMap. When you use this it is important to draw the other, not explicitly generalized data in the map above the these polygons, in particular waterbodies.

These files are made available under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 license. Data source is © OpenStreetMap contributors. Some might wonder why these are not licensed under ODBL like the original OSM data - this is because these polygons are a rendering of the data and it is neither intended nor possible to extract the actual building and landuse data from it. Therefore it is a produced work in terms of the ODBL.

In general the need for custom adaptation of the generalization parameters is higher in case of the settlements than it is for coastlines and glaciers. Settlements usually have no clearly defined boundary and it is a matter of choice to what extend you consider fairly isolated buildings to be still part of a nearby settlement or not. Such subjective choices require changes in the parameters. Processing of OSM settlement data is available as custom production in the data products on services.imagico.de. The following map for example integrates the generalized OpenStreetMap based settlement information into the general landcover coloring - which is a bit different in the way it is processed from the polygon based generalization shown above.

Map rendering example with generalized OSM settlement data
Map rendering example with generalized OSM settlement data

Christoph Hormann, April 2014

Visitor comments:

by dieterdreist from Italy posted on Tue Jun 3 2014 17:06:03
Really nice work, I hope you excuse that I just wanted to comment instead on the "central osm rules" link, regarding the "one feature one osm element" rule, which is IMHO just pointless in this form. There is no such thing as "one feature" in the real world, it really just depends on your point of view. A tag is defined (in the best of the cases) to describe something / some aspect etc., and as you can use any tag you like in osm I think it is clear that there might be also several osm elements to describe (different aspects) of the "same thing".

Take the first example from the linked wiki page: "A feature consisting of buildings on grounds (e.g. a school), should be mapped as an area object delineating the land with area objects marking the buildings. Tags should be on the area, and not the buildings, unless the buildings are different (e.g. buildings on the school grounds can be assumed to be part of the school)."

While I understand what are the intentions behind this text, it still doesn't convince me. A school is not "consisting of buildings", at least no more than for example it consists of power lines. The education might take place inside the buildings, they house it, like the power lines bring electricity, but the school itself is an abstract entity, not the sum of its buildings and open air areas.
For osm it is ok to spatially locate the function "school" to some real world place (i.e. the area describe in the example), but it is important to realize that this is still only the area the school takes place in, not the school itself.
by chris from Germany posted on Tue Jun 3 2014 19:36:21
I think the school example is not so good here since there are schools which consist of a larger enclosed area with both buildings and open space, uniformly owned and managed, possibly fenced and with access restrictions while there are other schools which consist only of one or several buildings and everything outside being public space.

What i wanted to point out and where i linked to this rule is that tags should always be applied to those object they apply to and 'residential' for example is usually quite clearly a property of the buildings (people reside in the buildings and not in the space around). Therefore the urban landuse polygons are problematic when they are mapped in addition to the buildings. There are of course still many areas where individual buildings are not mapped and there is makes sense to coarsely map the area where there are buildings (including their purpose).
Leave a comment
You have to enable Javascript to be able to write comments.
human verification Please enter the code you can see in the image on the left to verify you are a human and not a spamming script.
* * Required field
Information about you
*
will not be made public
will be displayed with your posting
Your comment (no HTML)

*

If you want to send a private message to the author of this website you can do so via Email.

The comments will be reviewed before they are added to the site. So you might need to wait some time until your entry turns up.

Please note this comment function is intended for commenting on the text and images, not for discussing political or religious views. Comments with no relation to the content of this site will not be approved.

imagico.de
imagico.de

imagico.de

Geo-Visualisierung

Englische Version

Erfassung und Darstellung von Siedlungen in OpenStreetMap

Menschliche Siedlungen aller Form und Größe sind eines der wichtigsten Elemente, welche in OpenStreetMap erfasst werden. Der häufigste Objekttyp in der OSM-Datenbank sind Gebäude, es gibt über 110 Millionen davon. Ihre Verbreitung in OSM und die Bedeutung im täglichen Leben machen Gebäude zu einem anschaulichen Beispiel, um die Erfassungspraxis in OSM und die damit verbundenen Problemen zu erläutern. Ich möchte hier einen kritischen Blick auf die verschiedenen Ebenen werfen, auf denen Siedlungen in OpenStreetMap erfasst werden, darauf wie diese Daten in der Karte dargestellt werden, was für Probleme sich hieraus ergeben und was man dagegen tun kann.

Es gibt oberhalb der Ebene der Gebäude noch eine Reihe von Formen, in denen Siedlungen in OSM erfasst werden:

  • Siedlungen mit Namen beliebiger Größe werden als Punkte mit dem Tag place=city|town|village|... erfasst. Viele Karten verwenden diese Daten, um die Siedlungen mit einer Punktmarkierung zu versehen, der Standard-OSM-Stil jedoch nicht. Auch dort werden diese Daten jedoch verwendet, um die Beschriftungen zu platzieren. Diese Punkte stellen die Primären Datenobjekte dar, welche die jeweiligen Siedlung als Ganzes repräsentieren.
  • Viele größere Siedlungen bilden eine administrative Einheit welche als Gebiet mit boundary=administrative erfasst wird. Dies ist jedoch eigentliche keine Erfassung der Siedlung selbst, da die administrativen Grenzen im Grunde unabhängig von der eigentlichen Siedlung sind.
  • Zusätzliche erfolgt die Erfassung städtischer Landnutzungen wie landuse=residential|commercial|industrial|...
Punktbasierte Beschiftungen im Standardstil Punktmarkierungen im 'Humanitarian'-Stil administrative Grenzen
Punktbasierte Beschiftungen im Standardstil Punktmarkierungen im 'Humanitarian'-Stil administrative Grenzen

Der interessante Teil hier ist die Erfassung der Landnutzung. Ich verwende die Landnutzungs-Erfassung in Städten gerne als Beispiel dafür, dass die Erfassung-Praxis in OSM mehrere Generalisierungs-Ebenen gleichzeitig erfasst und dadurch im Grunde eigene Kernprinzipien des Projektes verletzt.

Nehmen wir zum Beispiel landuse=residential. In OSM ist es allgemein üblich, bei der Erfassung von Wohngebieten ein Landnutzungs-Polygon um die Wohngebäude herum zu zeichnen. Dies umfasst gewöhnlich die kompletten Grundstücke, auf denen sich die Häuser befinden, mit Gärten, Einfahrten, Parkplätzen, Mauern, Hecken usw. Ebenso meist mit einbezogen werden kleinere Straßen mit ihren Bürgersteigen sowie Gemeinschaftsflächen wie Spielplätze, allgemeine kleinere Grünflächen und ähnliches. Das landuse=residential charakterisiert dabei jedoch eigentlich nicht alle diese Objekte, sondern lediglich die Gebäude in diesem Bereich. Sind das keine Wohnhäuser, sondern Bürogebäude oder Läden, dann ergibt sich ein anderer landuse, auch wenn ansonsten alles gleich bleibt.

landuse=residential landuse=commercial landuse=industrial
Beispiel für landuse=residential (Ein Klick auf das Bild zeigt die Umrisse des Polygons) landuse=commercial landuse=industrial

landuse=residential und andere städtische Landnutzungen sind also im Grunde Erfassungen der Siedlungsgebiete auf einer über den Einzelgebäuden liegenden Generalisierungsebene. Dabei stellt sich natürlich die Frage, auf welchem Maßstab diese Generalisierung erfolgt. Gibt es in einem Wohngebiet ein oder zwei Geschäfte, werden diese gewöhnlich einfach im landuse=residential eingeschlossen. Städte unterscheiden sich in ihrer Struktur und es gibt keine dokumentierten Regeln - weder dazu wie strikt beispielsweise Wohn- und Gewerbegebiete getrennt werden noch dazu wie knapp das Landuse-Polygon die Gebäude umschließt. Allerdings ist weitgehend etabliert, dass größere Straßen, Flüsse sowie Parks und andere größere Flächen den Landuse unterbrechen so dass die meisten Städtischen Landnutzungs-Polygone nicht mehr als einige hundert Meter groß sind. Der Grad der Generalisierung hängt auch davon ab, wie dertailliert generell die Erfassung in einem Gebiet ist. Falls in anderen Aspekten sehr kleine Details erfasst werde, wird auch die Landnutzung oft feingliedriger gezeichnet.

Die Darstellung von Siedlungen in der Karte

Die oben angegebene Liste der Formen, in welchen Siedlungen in OSM erfasst werden, ist recht vollständig. Hierdurch ergibt sich bei der Produktion von Karten verschiedener Maßstäbe auf OpenStretMap-Basis ein Problem. Auf Übersichtskarten werden die erfassten Punkte verwendet, um Beschriftungen und ggf. Markierungspunkte zu platzieren. Auf detaillierten Karten stellt man die Landnutzungs-Polygone und die Gebäude dar. Bei mittleren Maßstäben jedoch, in der Bildschirmdarstellung bei Pixelgrößen von einigen hundert Metern bis ein paar Kilometern fehlen jedoch geeignete Daten. Für diese Maßstäbe müsste man größere Städte differenzierter darstellen, als mit einem Punkt, da sie sich meist über viele Kilometer ausdehnen. Die Landnutzungspolygone jedoch sind zu detailliert für diesen Zweck, eine typische Großstadt enthält größere Bereiche, die nicht zu einer der städtischen Flächennutzungen gehören, so dass erhebliche Lücken in der Landnutzungsaufteilung entstehen, etwa durch Grünflächen verschiedener Art, größere Straßen und Gewässer.

städtische Landnutzung in Hannover in OSM
städtische Landnutzung in Hannover in OSM

Was man hier bräuchte ist ein stärker generalisierter Datensatz der Städte, welcher jeweils das komplette Stadtgebiet abdeckt, einschließlich der Bereiche innerhalb der Stadt, die eigentlich nicht städtische Landnutzung darstellen. Hierfür wäre drei Ansätze denkbar:

  1. Man könnte solche Daten zusätzlich in der OSM-Datenbank erfassen.
  2. Man besorgt sich derartige Daten anderswo.
  3. Man erzeugt diese Daten aus dem, was sich bereits in der Datenbank befindet, also den Gebäude- und Landnutzungs-Daten.

Die erste Möglichkeit ist vermutlich eine schlechte Idee - es gibt ja bereits zwei Ebenen der Erfassung, die Einzelgebäude und die Landnutzungs-Polygone und diese führen bereits zu erheblichen Inkonsistenzen, wenn das eine nicht zum anderen passt. Die Probleme, welche sich daraus ergeben, werden im Folgenden noch thematisiert. Eine dritte Form der Erfassung hinzuzufügen würde diese Probleme nur noch verstärken.

Die zweite Möglichkeit ist das, was im Standardstil bei OpenStreetMap derzeit verwendet wird. Hierzu dient ein Datensatz mit builtup areas aus der VMAP0-Datenbank. Dieser enthält Polygone mit einer Detailliertheit, welche für mittlere Maßstäbe in OSM geeignet ist. Diese Daten sind jedoch sehr alt und in der Qualität sehr ungleichmäßig. Man kann das am folgenden Ausschnitt aus Europa sehen:

VMAP0 builtup area Daten
VMAP0 builtup areas in Europa

wo im Süden Russlands und in der Ukraine eine recht dichte Abdeckung besteht während im Süden Europas nur Stellenweise Daten vorhanden sind. Diese Daten waren bereits bei ihrer Erfassung ungenau und sind es heute umso mehr. Unnötig zu erwähnen, dass sie nicht zu den übrigen Daten in der OSM-Datenbank passen.

Derzeit werden diese Daten im OSM-Standardstil bei den Zoomstufen 8 und 9 verwendet - zu sehen in den folgenden Beispielen. Die VMAP0-Daten sind jeweils in hellgrau dargestellt.

Standardstil zoom=8 Standardstil zoom=9 Standardstil zoom=10
zoom=8 zoom=9 zoom=10

Natürlich gibt es mittlerweile neuere und genauere Datensätze für städtische Landnutzung wie zum Beispiel hier - es ist jedoch in jedem Fall etwas merkwürdig, dass eine OSM-Karte für etwas auf externe Daten zurückgreifen muss, was eigentlich innerhalb des Projektes detailliert erfasst wird.

Die Generalisierung der OSM-Siedungsdaten

Dies führt uns zur dritten Möglichkeit, nämlich die benötigten Informationen aus den Daten in der OSM-Datenbank abzuleiten. Ich habe die grundsätzliche Idee der geometrischen Generalisierung am Beispiel der Küstenlinie schon mal erläutert. Der Zweck ist es, Details, welche man beim Zielmaßstab der Karte nicht vernünftig darstellen kann, aus den Daten zu entfernen. Sinnvollerweise fängt man hierfür bei den Landnutzungspolygonen an. Wie man in der zuvor gezeigten Illustration sehen kann, muss man vor allem die Lücken zwischen den verschiedenen Flächen schließen, welche sich durch Straßen und ähnliches ergeben. Denn diese würden das Erscheinungsbild der Karte stören und daneben die Geschwindigkeit der Darstellung beeinträchtigen.

Das Problem dabei ist jedoch, dass die Erfassung der städtischen Landnutzung oft unvollständig ist. Dies gilt insbesondere für Innenstadt-Bereiche, wo viele Gebäude gemischt genutzt werden so dass weder landuse=retail noch landuse=residential wirklich passen. Man kann dies am folgenden Beispiel von Prag sehen:

OSM-Landnutzungs-Daten in Prag
OSM-Landnutzungs-Daten in Prag (orange) und die VMAP0-Daten (red)

Neben den Landnutzungsdaten gibt es natürlich die Gebäude. Hier eine Darstellung davon in der selben Gegend:

OSM-Gebäude-Daten in Prag
OSM-Gebäude-Daten in Prag und die VMAP0-Daten (red)

In diesem Fall sind die Gebäude-Daten wesentlich genauer und vollständiger. Es gibt jedoch natürlich auch Gegenden auf der Erde, wo Gebäudeinformationen weitgehend fehlen.

Eine dritte Möglichkeit bieten die Straßen - Eine eigentlich naheliegende Idee, wenn man sich die Karte bei Zoomstufe 10 anschaut wie im Budapest-Beispiel oben. Das dunkle Grau in der Karte sind dabei nicht die städtischen Landnutzungen sondern die Straßen. Die Straßendichte ist ein möglicher Indikator für Siedlungsbereiche - dieser kann jedoch auch in die Irre führen, da es auch andere Bereiche mit großer Straßendichte gibt, beispielsweise in der Nähe größerer Verkehrsknoten, welche sich nicht notwendigerweise bei von Siedlungen befinden.

Der wichtigste Grund für die Verwendung der Straßen liegt darin, dass sowohl Gebäude als auch städtische Landnutzung oft nicht erfasst sind, so zum Beispiel in weiten Teilen der USA und Japans. In solche Fällen sind die Straßen die einzigen Elemente in der OSM-Datenbank, welche einen Anhaltspunkt für die Identifikation von Siedlungen liefern.

Durch Kombination von Landnutzungsdaten, Gebäuden und Straßen kann man somit versuchen, die Unvollständigkeiten und Inkonsistenzen in diesen drei verschiedenen Datensammlungen zu überbrücken. Unterhalb sieht man drei Beispiele für das Ergebnis aus diesem Ansatz aus verschiedenen Teilen der Welt - Prag als eruopäische Stadt mit detaillierter Erfassung von Gebäuden und Straßen aber mit unvollständigen Landnutzungsdaten, Sioux City als typische US-Stadt mit Erfassung der Gebäude nur in der Nähe des Stadtzentrums und ansonsten nur importierten Straßendaten. Und schließlich Dar es Salaam als afrikanische Stadt mit recht ungleichmäßiger Erfassung und dertaillierten Daten nur in kleinen Bereichen. Im letzten Fall kann man auch gut sehen, dass die VMAP0 sehr unvollständig sind. Durch einen Klick auf auf die Bilder kann man die OSM-Karte mit den generalisierten Umrissen überlagert aufrufen.

Generalisierte Umrisse von Prag Generalisierte Umrisse von Sioux City Generalisierte Umrisse von Dar es Salaam
Prag Sioux City Dar es Salaam

Diese drei Beispiele sind mit den selben Einstellungen bearbeitet. Idealerweise sollte man diese natürlich and die lokalen Gegebenheiten und den jeweiligen Erfassungsstil anpassen. Wenn die Erfassung von Gebäuden und Landnutzung recht vollständig ist, sollte man besser auf die zusätzliche Berücksichtigung der Straßendaten verzichten.

Generalisierte Umrisse von Prag
Gebäude (schwarz) und städtische Landnutzung (orange) in Prag zusammen mit den generalisierten Polygonen (blau), Link führt zu größerer Ansicht.

Der Zielmaßstab dieser Bearbeitungen liegt etwa bei den Zoomstufen 8-10. Bei z=10 dominieren im Standardstil wie gesagt die Straßen. Für eine gute Lesbarkeit der Karte wäre es jedoch sicher besser, die kleinen Straßen bei diesem Maßstab nicht darzustellen.

Das Problem bei der Verwendung der Gebäude- wie auch der Straßendaten liegt in der großen dabei zu bearbeitenden Datenmengen. Folglich ist die Anwendung des Verfahrens auf die ganze Erde nicht ganz einfach. Es sollte jedoch im Grunde möglich sein, Teile dieser Verarbeitung inkrementell durchzuführen, so dass es nicht notwendig ist, bei jeder Änderung alles neu zu machen, sondern dass man stattdessen fortlaufend die Änderungsätze in die Datenbasis einarbeitet.

Verwendung der generalisierten Siedlungsdaten in einer Karte

Die hier bereitgestellten Dateien dürfen unter Creative Commons Lizenz frei von jedem verwendet werden. Ihre Produktion kostet eine Menge Zeit und Geld. Falls Sie diese Daten nützlich finden, sollten Sie erwägen, meine Arbeit über den folgenden Link zu unterstützen:

Um auszuprobieren, wie die so verarbeiteten OSM-Daten in der Karte aussehen, kann man die generalisierten Polygone in Web-Mercator-Projektion hier herunterladen. Diese basieren auf den Städtischen Landnutzungspolygonen den Gebäuden und den Straßen aus OpenStreetmap. Bei der Verwendung ist es wichtig, andere, nicht explizit generalisierte Daten über diese Polygone zu zeichnen, insbesondere Wasserflächen.

Diese Dateien werden unter der Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Lizenz bereitgestellt. Die Daten sind © OpenStreetMap-Mitwirkende. Einige mögen sich fragen, warum diese nicht unter ODBL stehen wie die OSM-Daten - das liegt daran, dass die generalisierten Polygone nur eine Darstellung der Daten und damit nicht gedacht (und auch nicht geeignet) sind, dass man die ursprünglichen Gebäude- und Landnutzungsdaten aus diesen extrahiert. Daher handelt es sich um ein 'produced work' entsprechend der ODBL.

Ganz generell ist es bei den Siedlungen eher notwendig, die Parameter der Generalisierung an die jeweilige Verwendung anzupassen, als bei Küstenlinien und Gletschern. Die Siedlungen haben in der Realität gewöhnlich keine klar definierten Umrisse und es ist eine subjektive Entscheidung, in wie fern man isoliert stehende Gebäude als Teil einer nahen Siedlung ansieht. Solche subjektiven Entscheidungen müssen sich in den Generalisierungseinstellungen wiederspiegeln. Die Verarbeitung der OSM-Siedlungsdaten wird auch als kundenspezifische Produktion bei den Datenprodukten auf services.imagico.de verfügbar sein. Die folgende Karte zeigt zum Beispiel die Integration von Siedlungsdaten auf OSM-Basis in eine allgemeine Landbedeckungs-Darstellung - was sich in der Verarbeitung ein bisschen von der oben erläuterten Polygon-basierten Generalisierung unterscheidet.

Beispiel einer Kartendarstellung unter Verwendung generalisierter OSM-Siedlungsdaten
Beispiel einer Kartendarstellung unter Verwendung generalisierter OSM-Siedlungsdaten

Christoph Hormann, April 2014

Kommentare:

von dieterdreist aus Italy am Tue Jun 3 2014 17:06:03
Really nice work, I hope you excuse that I just wanted to comment instead on the "central osm rules" link, regarding the "one feature one osm element" rule, which is IMHO just pointless in this form. There is no such thing as "one feature" in the real world, it really just depends on your point of view. A tag is defined (in the best of the cases) to describe something / some aspect etc., and as you can use any tag you like in osm I think it is clear that there might be also several osm elements to describe (different aspects) of the "same thing".

Take the first example from the linked wiki page: "A feature consisting of buildings on grounds (e.g. a school), should be mapped as an area object delineating the land with area objects marking the buildings. Tags should be on the area, and not the buildings, unless the buildings are different (e.g. buildings on the school grounds can be assumed to be part of the school)."

While I understand what are the intentions behind this text, it still doesn't convince me. A school is not "consisting of buildings", at least no more than for example it consists of power lines. The education might take place inside the buildings, they house it, like the power lines bring electricity, but the school itself is an abstract entity, not the sum of its buildings and open air areas.
For osm it is ok to spatially locate the function "school" to some real world place (i.e. the area describe in the example), but it is important to realize that this is still only the area the school takes place in, not the school itself.
von chris aus Germany am Tue Jun 3 2014 19:36:21
I think the school example is not so good here since there are schools which consist of a larger enclosed area with both buildings and open space, uniformly owned and managed, possibly fenced and with access restrictions while there are other schools which consist only of one or several buildings and everything outside being public space.

What i wanted to point out and where i linked to this rule is that tags should always be applied to those object they apply to and 'residential' for example is usually quite clearly a property of the buildings (people reside in the buildings and not in the space around). Therefore the urban landuse polygons are problematic when they are mapped in addition to the buildings. There are of course still many areas where individual buildings are not mapped and there is makes sense to coarsely map the area where there are buildings (including their purpose).
Kommentar schreiben
Sie müssen Javascript aktivieren, um Kommentare schreiben zu können.
Verifikation Bitte geben Sie die Buchstabenfolge im Bild links in das Eingabefeld ein, damit ich Sie einfacher von Spam-Programmen unterscheiden kann.
* * Erforderliches Feld
Informationen über Sie
*
wird nicht veröffentlicht
wird mit ihrem Kommentar angezeigt
Ihr Kommentar (kein HTML)

*

Wenn Sie mir, dem Autor dieser Seite, eine private Nachricht senden möchten, können Sie dies per Email tun.

Die Kommentare werden erst nach einer Überprüfung freigeschaltet. Er kann somit einige Zeit dauern, bis Ihr Beitrag auftaucht.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Kommentarfunktion zum Kommentieren der Bilder und Texte und nicht zur Diskussion politischer oder religiöser Ansichten dient. Kommentare ohne Bezug zum Inhalt dieser Seite werden nicht freigeschaltet.